This was our first time really taking our daughter out trick or treating and it went really great!

I made our daughters costume this year, and I was glad I did. I think the best costumes are homemade. Plus who wants to pay high prices for a poorly sewn costume.

She was really excited to wear her costume that I made, I now that won’t last long. Soon enough she will be thinking my costumes are lame and asking to drop $50 bucks on a costume that doesn’t leave much to the imagination. But, for now I am loving making her things and I was already thinking when I was sewing it up this year… what can I make next year!!!

The cape is a pattern from Oliver + S Little Things to Sew: 20 Classic Accessories and Toys for Children. It is a great book full of cute patterns!

And the dress is a pattern from Sweet & Simple Sewing Patterns on etsy.

